Happy New Year!

Pretty much immediately after moving in to our new flat, it was time to go off on the annual visit to friends and family in the UK that is Christmas. Followed by a brief detour to Nice to see sunshine (which was actually there for several hours!), and then the return to work.

Which wasn’t nearly as bad as I expected. The team are still nice, I’m settling in to the work and understanding more about what’s expected (though if I get fired next week, you’ll know that bit wasn’t as true as I currently think it is…) and now my husband’s based up here too, life is pretty good!

I’ve bought myself a new and fancy camera, so there should be more photos to come from around Brussels – I’m going to go exploring this weekend to practice using it. I think I might start with touristy stuff, if I’m feeling energetic and the current bout of plague has calmed down, or the park, if neither of those things are true.

Despite the plague, I’ve successfully managed to register with our commune, and look forward to my visit from the police to check I wasn’t lying about where I live. I’m pleased to see crime levels in Belgium are this low!

(For the benefit of non-resident readers, you have to register with your local town hall within 3 months of living here – sooner is apparently better – and then a policeman comes round to check that you live where you say you live and that your name is stuck up properly on the doorbell. Some time after this happens, you apparently receive an ID card that you use for commune-related interactions, carry with you at all times so that passing policeman can be assured of who you are if they want to know, and I think you can use it for travel within the EU.)

Leave a comment